PageFly - Billing description

586 views Hoang 0

This article describes all charging scenarios that might occur during PageFly use. This will let you understand more about the amount you have been charged.

Normal PageFly recurring charges

Normal recurring charge
You pay recurring charges for PageFly subscription via Shopify App charges. We do not have any special charging model except the one that’s officially allowed and supported by Shopify.
There are a few things to keep in mind:

  • PageFly offers a Free plan, therefore the PageFly billing cycle starts only when you start using a paid plan, i.e. explicitly approve the charge in the store administration interface.
  • PageFly billing cycle works independently from the Shopify billing cycle.
  • The Shopify billing cycle is fixed to 30 days, or 1, 2, or 3 years. But the PageFly billing cycle is fixed to 30 days.

Read more:

Upgrading / Downgrading the plan

You can upgrade or downgrade your plan anytime you want. PageFly will prompt you to agree to a new recurring app charge. This is because Shopify only allows one recurring app charge to be enabled at a time. The existing recurring app charge will be canceled and replaced by the new charge.

Upgrading the plan

Let’s take a look at an example case, when:

  • You begin with PageFly Pro plan ($9.95).
  • Then you upgrade to Premium plan ($29.95) on Day 10 of the PageFly billing cycle.

There are 2 sub-cases:

Upgrading before Shopify billing cycle ends

Upgrading before Shopify billing cycle ends

  • At the end of the first Shopify billing cycle (on day 30), it will charge an amount calculated by formula: $9.95 + ($29.95 – $9.95) * (20/30) = $23.28.
  • In the following billing cycle, Shopify will charge the full price of the Premium plan, which is $29.9.

Upgrading after Shopify billing cycle ends

Upgrading after Shopify billing cycle ends

  • At the end of the first Shopify billing cycle (on day 30), it will charge the price of Pro plan $9.95 because at this moment it doesn’t know that you will upgrade your plan yet.
  • At the end of the second Shopify billing cycle (on day 60), it will charge an amount calculated by formula: $29.95 + ($29.95 – $9.95) * (20/30) = $43.28.
  • In the following billing cycle, Shopify will charge the nominal price of the Premium plan, which is $29.95.

Downgrading the plan

Let’s take a look at another example case, when:

  • You begin with PageFly Premium plan ($29.95).
  • Then you downgrade to Pro plan ($9.95) on Day 10 of the PageFly billing cycle.

Again, there are 2 sub-cases:

Downgrading before Shopify billing cycle ends

Downgrading before Shopify billing cycle ends

  • At the end of the first Shopify billing cycle (on day 30), Shopify will:
    • Charge the nominal price of the Premium plan, which is $29.95.
    • Give back an amount of application credit calculated by formula: ($29.95 – $9.95) * (20/30) = $13.33.
  • At the end of the following billing cycles, Shopify will charge the nominal price of the Pro plan, which is $9.95.

Downgrading after Shopify billing cycle ends

Downgrading after Shopify billing cycle ends

  • At the end of the first Shopify billing cycle (on day 30), Shopify will:
    • Charge the nominal price of the Premium plan, which is $29.95.
  • At the end of following billing cycles, Shopify will:
    • Charge the nominal price of the Pro plan, which is $9.95.
    • Give back an amount of application credit calculated by formula: ($29.95 – $9.95) * (20/30) = $13.33.

Downgrading to the Free plan

  • Shopify doesn’t create a recurring charge for free plans in general.
  • If you downgrade to PageFly Free plan, the current recurring charge will be cancelled and Shopify will NOT credit back prorated fee to you as described in the previous sections.

Uninstalling / Reinstalling PageFly

Uninstalling PageFly

Let’s take a look at an example case when you uninstall the app 5 days after an approved charge.
Uninstalling PageFly

  • When you uninstall the app, your recurring charge will be canceled and you won’t be charged for following PageFly billing cycles.
  • But you will still need to pay for the cycle that has been started before you uninstall the app. This is regardless of whether you uninstall the app before or after Shopify’s billing cycle ends.

Important!

  • You will have to pay for the full 30 days even if you uninstall the app before that. This is Shopify policy, not PageFly. If you feel it’s unfair, please contact us. We will ask Shopify to issue refund for the “unfinished” billing cycle of PageFly.

Reinstalling PageFly

Let’s take a look at another example case, when you uninstall the app 5 days after an approved charge, then reinstall the app 5 days after that.
Reinstalling the app

  • When you reinstall the app, Shopify will create a new PageFly billing cycle.
  • If you reinstall the app within the same billing cycle, the newly created billing cycle will have the same ending date as the one that has been canceled during app uninstallation.

Pausing / Unpausing your store

Pausing your store

Pausing your store

  • According to Shopify, pausing your store means downgrading to a Dormant plan that has a lower cost of $14 per month, but with disabled checkout.
    • Similar to the downgrading case, you will receive prorated fees via application credit calculated based on the price difference of Shopify’s Basic and Dormant plan.
  • PageFly app, as well as the recurring charge for it, remains active after you pause your store.

Unpausing your store

Unpausing your stor

  • When you’re ready to start selling your products again, you can unpause your store.
    • Similar to the upgrading case, you will be charged a prorated fee calculated on the price difference between Shopify’s Basic and Dormant plan.
  • PageFly app, as well as the recurring charge for it, remains the same after you unpause your store.

Closing / Reopening your store

Closing your store

Closing your store

  • After your store is closed, the PageFly app remains installed on the store, but its recurring application charge is canceled.
  • But you will still need to pay for the cycle that has been started before you closed the store.

Reopening your store

Reopening before PageFly billing cycle ends

Reopening before PageFly billing cycle ends

  • If you reopen your store before your last app billing cycle ends, you can resume using the app for the rest of the cycle.
  • After that, you will need to re-select PageFly plan to create new PageFly billing cycle.

Reopening after PageFly billing cycle ends

Reopening after PageFly billing cycle ends

  • If you reopen the store after your last app billing cycle ends, you will need to re-select PageFly plan to create new PageFly billing cycle.

Freezing / Unfreezing your store

Freezing your store

Freezing your store

  • Your store will be frozen if you refuse to approve charges for Shopify more than 3 times.
  • After your store is frozen, the PageFly app remains installed on the store, but its recurring application charge is canceled.

Unfreezing your store

You can unfreeze the store within 30 days after being frozen by paying for a new Shopify billing cycle.

Unfreezing before PageFly billing cycle ends

Unfreezing before PageFly billing cycles ends

  • If you unfreeze your store before your last app billing cycle ends, you can resume using the app for the rest of the cycle, but you need to pay for the outstanding fees from it.
  • You also need to select new Shopify plan and approve charge correspondly.

Unfreezing after PageFly billing cycle ends

Unfreezing after PageFly billing cycles ends

  • If you unfreeze your store after your last app billing cycle ends, you need to pay for the outstanding fees from it.
  • You also need to select new Shopify plan and approve charge correspondly.

Was this helpful?